Gaia no Monshou

Gaia no Monshou is a turn-based strategy game developed in Japan by NCS (Nippon Computer Systems), and published on several popular home computers as well as the PC Engine home console. It’s the direct predecessor to the Langrisser series (occasionally known as Warsong), which had as extensive a hand in defining the console SRPG genre as Nectaris and Fire Emblem.

The player controls the army of the Land of Light, and has to repel the evil overlord Böser and his monsters. The player must build their army by spending points/cash earned in the previous battle to acquire new units before the next. In order to maximize the player’s chances of victory, they have to defeat as many enemy units as possible without letting them escape while securing their own units’ safety to have the most spending money for the following conflict. Points are awarded based on the strength of the defeated enemy, but points are lost if members of your army are defeated. Turns do not necessarily alternate between the player and the computer. Rather, the side which begins a new round is determined by a coin toss.

It was originally released in 1987 for the NEC PC-8801 computer. The game also has a Construction Mode that allows the player to create their own scenarios with units not found in the main game. These range from sci-fi units to members of Masaya’s development team. This game was never released outside of Japan.


Gaia no Monshou (NEC PC-8801) Reviews

There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.

Add your Review of Gaia no Monshou (NEC PC-8801)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *